Alcohol & Drug Education/ Driving While Intoxicated ClassesAddiction Recovery/

DWI Education

The standardized program is 12 hours in length and is designed to help DWI offenders increase their knowledge about alcohol and drugs as these substances relate to driving skills, to identify their own individual drinking/drug use and driving patterns, and to assist them in developing plans which will reduce the probability of future DWI behavior.

Specific course topics include alcohol/drug and traffic safety problems, Texas laws relating to DWI, effects of alcohol/drugs on humans, alcohol/drugs and driving task abilities, chemical dependency, symptoms of dependency, sources of assistance, costs of DWI, and decision-making.

Drug Offender Education

This standardized program is 15 hours in length and is designed to increase the knowledge of drug offenders by educating them on the dangers of drug abuse and associated illegal activities, to identify their own individual drug-use patterns, and to assist them in developing a personal action plan which will reduce the probability of suffering the consequences of future drug using and illegal behavior.

 

Specific course topics include history of drug abuse, drug/DWI laws, dynamics of drug use, drugs of abuse, how drugs work, cost of use and abuse, health issues, HIV, interpersonal relationships, deglamorization of drugs, values and behaviors, past and desired behaviors, getting control of your life, resource options, and personal action planning.

DWI Intervention Program

First day of DWI class you must be here at 

6:00pm to complete paperwork. 

 

Thursday & Friday

7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. 

 

Course  Topics

DWI in Arlington, Texas? You May Need A Counselor

Drivers in Arlington and throughout the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex may be arrested for driving while intoxicated or DWI if they have consumed any amount of alcohol or drugs and they are not able to operate a motorized vehicle. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense. Drivers may also be arrested for DWI if their BAC blood alchol concentration is 0.08% or higher. Arlington drivers who are under the age of 21 can also be arrested for drving while intoxicated or (DWI) if their BAC is 0.02% or higher.

Driverse in Arlington,TX can face DWI penalties if they are convicted of DWI. DWI penalties in Texas can include high fines, jail time and probation. After being convicted you may feel confused of how to potentially move on with your life. Starting a DWI class may not be mandatory for a first offense but can potentially aid in you learning how to cope and move forward in life.

DWI Penalties for Arlington, TX Drivers

First DWI Conviction in Arlington,TX

Class B: Misdemeanor

  • Arlington drivers are required to pay up to $2,000.

  • Arlington drivers may be given up to a 1 year Texas liscense suspension.

  • Arlington drivers are may be sentenced at least 3 days in jail. 

  • Arlington drivers if found with an open container in vehicle while DWI may be sentenced a 6 day minimum in jail.

 

Second DWI Conviction in Arlington,TX

Class Type: Misdemeanor

  • Arlington drivers are required to pay up to $4,000.

  • Arlington drivers may be given up to a 2 year Texas liscense suspension.

  • Arlington drivers are may be sentenced at least 30 days in jail. 

Third DWI Conviction in Arlington,TX

Class Type: Third Degree Felony

  • Arlington drivers are required to pay up to $10,000.

  • Arlington drivers may be given up to a 2 years Texas liscense suspension.

  • Arlington drivers are may be sentenced at least 2-10 years in prison. 

DWI w/ a Child under the age of 15

Class Type:  Felony

  • Arlington drivers are required to pay up to $10,000.

  • Arlington drivers may be given up to a 180 days Texas liscense suspension.

  • Arlington drivers are may be sentenced at least 2-10 years in prison.

  1. All Texas DWI convictions require completion of either a DWI Alcohol Education Program or a DWI Alcohol Intervention Program.

  2. In addition to the fine, a first DWI conviction results in a $1,000 surcharge, pade annually for three years. A second or third conviction results in a $1,500 surcharge, paid annually for three years. A DWI with a BAC > 0.15 % results in a $2,000 surcharge paid annually for three years.